Chandler Music Inc.
Find us on Facebook



Adams - Variations and Fugue on a Christmas Carol (Organ Solo)

Adams - Variations and Fugue on a Christmas Carol (Organ Solo)

1+: 9.90 ea.


(Pricing and availability is subject to change without notice. Please call for the latest information.)
Organ Solo
Bryon Adams

This score is based on the old British Carol "I saw three ships." There are seven variations preceding the fugue. After the theme has been stated, the first two variations extend the theme; the third variation introduces the pedals. The next three variations are in the style of Baroque genres: the fourth variation is a noël written as an homage to Daquin; the fifth variation is a figured chorale, in which the chorale Von Himmel hoch, da komm ich her makes its first appearance; and the sixth is a Handelian rigaudon. The seventh variation is a "carillion" in which Von Himmel hoch reappears. After a dramatic, dissonant chord, the score concludes with a chorale fugue during which Von Himmel hoch appears in the pedal. Composed for and dedicated to David Higgs, in celebration of his twenty-five years of teaching at the Eastman School of Music. Duration: 6:45

There are no related products at this time.